



A Bi-Monthly Publication for the Friends and Firefighters of the Stayton Fire District

www.staytonfire.org



From the Chief's Desk

~ Stayton Fire Chief Jay Alley

Goodbye 2023, welcome 2024!!! As we start the New Year we can reflect on the past year.

- We completed the first year with the shift crews, that has been a success with reducing response times, more community involvement and helping with station duties and responsibilities.
- We had two long- time board directors retire (thank you Jay Myers and Ray Porter) and two new board members join (welcome Tom Etzel and Ken Rich).
- We saw the Mehama Bingo return (no breakfast) as a Volunteer Association

fundraiser.

FF James McDougall cut down hazard trees next to the Elkhorn station; FFs Steve Orr and Sean Weitman removed the wood and



cleaned up the site. We had another successful Toys for Joy program for the Stayton/Sublimity Fire Districts; thank you Maria Sammons and gang.

January—February 2024

We were successful with four grants: the SAFER grant for Recruit (Continued on page 2)

<u>2023 Santa Cruise-In & Toys</u> <u>for Joy Report</u>:

102 Families signed up for toys and/or Christmas Food Baskets



249 Children received toys

Thank you to:

- Dana Orr, Allyson Wren, Dan Houston and Lavon Maskell for registering the families.
- Adam Bailey for distributing and collecting the toy barrels at various locations
- Laura Houston for helping with the admin-

istrative side of the TFJ Program

- SVPC#1 Volunteers and Beta Sigma Phi Sorority for attending the work parties to sort toys and fill bags
- Russ Strohmeyer and car club for cash donations and 825 toys donated during the Santa Cruise-In breakfast. 535 meals sold
 — thank you everyone for your support!

Thank you Braedon Davison for coordinating the breakfast!

Thank you Maria Sammons for your many, many hours coordinating and chairing the Toys for Joy program!

DISTRICT ANNIVERSARIES

JANUARY

Dan Houston—37 yrs. Gene Dershewitz—14 yrs. Tim Wilson—5 yrs. Lavon Maskell—2 yrs.

FEBRUARY

Steve Orr—13 yrs. Scott Orr— 12 yrs. Kaitlyn Woodsmall—12 yrs. Nathan Hemenway—2 yrs.

MARCH

Eric Peterson—18 yrs. Jeff Harris Sr—18 yrs. Doug Smith—14 yrs. Trent Tegen—12 yrs. Ashley Wessley—8 yrs.

> Congratulations And Thank You For 167 Years of Service!

Thank You for Your Service

Volunteer Recruitment

It has been a busy few months for recruitment.

- We currently have 4 members enrolled in Fire Academy this year; 5 total for new Stayton Fire memberships.
- Congratulations and welcome to Scott Salazar, Justin Jones, Connor Leonard, Tony Menk, and Lucas Langer.
- Our updated recruitment video is finished and playing at our local theater.
- Aumsville Fire District is officially on board with recruitment. I'm excited to be able to help boost personnel for Stayton, Sublimity and Aumsville Fire.
- I have more recruitment media being finalized and these will be spread throughout our communities soon.

Join up and make a difference!

(Continued from page 1)

and Retention Coordinator,
AFG for new SCBA, Siletz
Tribe for new wildland
pants, and the VFA grant for
fire shelters and drip torches;
Thank you FF Laura Houston, AC Doug Kintz, FF
David Champion, FF Marcus
Andrews and all who helped.

Thank You to Lt Taunie Alley for again bringing Santa to the community with the L80 light show, music and Santa and his helpers.

As the year ended we had the rare event of a victim rescued from a house fire; C shift crew of Lt Angela Hargin, FF Micole Heater and FF Nate Hemenway had a life save.

The dedication and commitment of our volunteers and career staff makes a difference in our communities, THANK YOU FOR ALL YOU DO!!!! The actions of our members truly define our mission

"TO PROVIDE OUTSTANDING SERVICE WITH COMMITMENT TO SAVING LIVES AND PROPERTY"





Congratulations to FF Nathan Hemenway, FF Micole Heater, Lt Angela Hargin for receiving Meritorious Life Saving Award.

District Birthdays

<u>JANUARY</u>

5—Jeff Harris Sr 8—Justin Large 31—Nathan Hemenway

FEBRUARY

3—Doug Kintz 3—Anthony Menk 4—Tom Etzel 5—Mike Beaumont 7—Jonny Jensen 7—Sean Mullins 12—Nastasja Johnson 13—Chris Enquist 14—Lucy Hemenway 26—Kevin Bakke 26—Doug Smith

MARCH

11—Lavon Maskell 22—Rhonda Grant 30—Maria Sammons

> Happy Birthday!



Congratulations Corner

- Thank you to Lucy Hemenway for serving as Vice President of SVPC
- Congratulations to Jonny Jenson, new Vice President of SVPC
- Congratulations to Ashley Wessel as new Secretary of SVPC
- Congratulations to Scott Salazar for completing EMR course prior to Fire Academy.

The SPANNE

1988 W. Ida St. Stayton, OR 97383

